Expand my Community achievements bar.

Applications for the 2024-2025 Adobe Experience Manager Champion Program are open!

Duplicating form data elsewhere in form question

Level 4

First, I'm a newbie at this, so bear with me.

I am working on a form utilizing the javascript instance manager to add/remove name fields as needed (script found in Master-> SEC_02-> Setup_02-> Add/Remove). The instanced subform is called Name_List.

That part works fine.

Now I need to create sort of a "modified instance" of Name_List wherein information created and filled in in the above area is replicated in another part of the form. (found in Master-> SEC_02->Name_List_Copy). However, this Name_List subform is different from the first Name_List in that some objects have been removed and new ones added, so I can't simply create multiple instances in different places. But I want information input in Name_List (specifically "Name" and "DOB") to be replicated in Name_List_Copy.

I thought using a global binding would work, but when the instance manager creates more instances, the input for the first object is copied in all the others, so that won't work.

Any help in sorting this out would be appreciated.

Remember, I'm a newbie! PS. Links to any good books/tutorials specific to beginner level javascript and livecycle would be appreciated!

File attached

Graham

16 Replies

Former Community Member

Which instance of Name_List do you want to want to copy Name and DOB from?

Level 4

Thanks for looking into this issue.

I want to have the first instance of Name and DOB found in Master-> SEC_02-> Name_List-> Sub_List-> Sub_Name_01/Sub_DOB_01 to be the "master" entities.

Former Community Member

The following scripts in the calculation events for Name_01 and DOB_01 in Name_List_Copy should do it.

// form1.Master.SEC_02.Name_List_Copy.Sub_Name_01::calculate - (JavaScript, client)

this.rawValue = form1.Master.SEC_02.Name_List.Sub_List.Sub_Name_01.rawValue;