Expand my Community achievements bar.

July 31st AEM Gems Webinar: Elevate your AEM development to master the integration of private GitHub repositories within AEM Cloud Manager.

Drop-down List

Former Community Member

I've started using Adobe LiveCycle Designer for the last few weeks, and so far I'm really amazed by its features.

Since I'm new to it, I have a question related to Drop-down List

I'm creating a form, in this form I have Drop-down Lists...

1) Unit Name

1.A)

1.B)

1.C)

2) Department Name

2.A)

2.B)

2.B)

I would like when the user chooses on of the items in the Drop-down List 1, a specific items from the Drop-down List 2 will be shown, I mean that the items which will be shown in the second Drop-down list are dependent on the choice of the item from the first Drop-down list.

I don't know if this is possible or not, but I will appreciate any help.

Regards,

7 Replies

Level 9

Hello Ahmed,

Yes, This is quite possible. First create 2 DropDown lists. In first DropDownlist add items that you needed. And in the change event of first dropdown list you should add the following code.

var newVal = this.boundItem(xfa.event.newText);  // Stores the dropdown value when the user selects something from the drop down list.
switch (newVal)                                    // Depending upon the selections made in the dropdown populates the state field based on that
{
    case "A":
        DropDownList2.clearItems();        
        DropDownList2.addItem('A');
        break;
    case "B":
        DropDownList2.addItem('B');
        break;   
    case "C":
        DropDownList2.addItem('B');
        break;   
    default:
    break;
}  

Thanks.

Bibhu.

Former Community Member

Thanks Bibhu for the quick reply, but actually since I'm new to Adobe LiveCycle Designer I couldn't find the change event of the first Drop-down List

"And in the change event of first dropdown list you should add the following code."

Thnks

Level 9

Hello Ahmed,