Expand my Community achievements bar.

Criteria To Display Subform

Level 1

Hi, I am new to LiveCycle and form designing. I have a form where I would like some fields to appear based on what was selected in a drop down list. For instance, if the user chooses "New Hire" from the drop down list in the field "Type", then I want additional fields to appear on the form. If they choose "Termination" in the drop down list the additional fields will not appear.

I do not have a database associated with the form. This form will be used for email only.

I tried creating a Choice Subform Set but didn't know how to write the expression to turn on/off the subform and it's imbedded fields.

Any help would be appreciated.

10 Replies

Former Community Member

If there is a small number fo fields involved I woudl simple toggle the presence property of each object. The states that you want to set it to are visible/invisible. So your code woudl look something like this:

if (checkbox1.rawValue == 1){

field1Name.presence = "visible"

field2name.presence = "visible"

field3name.presence = "invisible"

} else {

field1Name.presence = "invisible"

field2name.presence = "invisible"

field3name.presence = "visible"

}

Paul

Level 1

There are not many fields on the form so I think this well could be the answer. Unfortunately, newbie that I am, I don't know where to put the code. Sorry to be such an ignoramus.

Former Community Member

On the change event of the checkbox in question

Paul

Level 1

And how do I access this change event for my drop down list field? I am attaching a document with a screen shot of my doc in LiveCycle.

Former Community Member