Expand my Community achievements bar.

Color a field

Level 2

Hello,

I am new to LiveCylce and I have a question.

I own a auto repair shop and have a vehicle inspection form that I use for vehicles that come into the shop. Each item on the form has three checkboxes labeled for the condition of the item.

I am trying to make a new inspection form and each item on the inspection form would have one rectangle next to it that I would be able to change color depending on the condition of the item "Red" for severe or safety issue "Yellow" for recommended & "Green" for acceptable.

I would like to have three buttons on the form that when pressed would change the color of the rectangle that I am on for each color labeled  Severe, Recommended & Acceptable. Or one button that could be pressed once for Red twice for yellow and three times for green. I just want to have one instance of this on the form so I don't have buttons all over the place.

I have attached a pdf of the old form so you can see what it consisted of.

Thanks in advance

48 Replies

Level 10

Hi,

Attached is an example of a button that when clicked changes from white, to green, to amber, to red, and back to white. You could have a single button for each criteria.

The javascript is in the click event of the button.

Good luck,

Niall

Level 2

Hello,

Looks great!!

I changed the script a bit to make the amber colored button yellow.

I would like all the text in the buttons to be black if I could.

I would like to have the button default as the Green or "Acceptable" color then Yellow "Recommended" then Red "Severe" then White

"Not Applicable" (this.caption.value.text ="N/A") then default back to the Green button. I am attaching the file.

Thanks in advance

P.S. Will I be able to fill this out in Acrobat Reader nd save if I want to?

Level 10

Hi,

The font colour is straightforward, go to the Font tab and select the colour from the drop down.