Expand my Community achievements bar.

SOLVED

Changing background fill color based on Radio Button selections

Level 2

Hi,

I'm very new to scripting in LC, so I've hit a wall on my latest form.I'm trying to build a form with a "leikert-like" scale, however one of the stipulations (from my boss) was the background of the Radio Buttons are to fill based on which button is selected.

For example, Question 1 has 4 Radio Buttons to choose from: Poor, Fair, Good, Great. If the person completing the form selects poor, I would like the poor background color to be filled. If someone selects fair, I would like that background color to be filled, as well as the background of poor. Selecting Good would fill the colors of good, fair, and poor; and selecting Great would fill the colors of all four.

Anyone have any ideas of how/if this can be done? In my initial tests, I've gotten the button itself to change colors, but not the background fill (which can be changed manually on the Border palette).

Any insight would be much appreciated. Thanks!

Aaron

1 Accepted Solution

Correct answer by
Level 8

Here is the code you can use in the change event of the ExclusionGroup object (titled RadioButtonList by default). It's the parent object of each individual radio button.

for (var i=0;i<this.resolveNode("#field").classAll.length;i++){

if (i<this.rawValue)

this.resolveNode("#field["+i+"]").border.fill.presence="visible";

else

this.resolveNode("#field["+i+"]").border.fill.presence="hidden";

}

This also assumes that the value for each radio button is numbered sequentially from 1 through however many radio buttons you have.