Expand my Community achievements bar.

SOLVED

Best use of a N/A radio button in conjunction with radio button groups.

Level 1

Hello,

I am really new to LiveCycle ES, I'd be too embarassed to tell you how I stumbled into this app.  I am attaching a screen shot of a survey question as designed by our sales team.  Ideally they want me to formulate the question responses in such a way that the N/A response, if selected by the user, disallows other radio buttons from being selected on the same line.  I have built each group to be an exclusionary group so that under each category, only one response is allowed.  The problem is that the N/A option is its own radio group and cannot be deselected.

Does anyone have advice on how to handle an N/A radio button option or can suggest a totally alternative method to handle this.  Its best if you look at the screen shot to see how hokey this truly is.

Thanks,

Julie

1 Accepted Solution

Correct answer by
Former Community Member

Julie,

You copied my script but did not change the path names to the form variables. My form root was 'form1'. Your form root is 'SupplierSurvey'.

Additionally, two form variable naming conventions rules: do not use dots (.) and do not use hyphens (-).

I renamed 'Page4-SurveyStart' to 'Page4_SurveyStart' and removed the '.1' extension from the radio button exclusion groups in section 1.1. As a result the code works for section 1.1 and you will have to make the applicable changes to the other sections.

Steve

View solution in original post

7 Replies

Former Community Member

I commonly use a checkbox that is formatted as a circle. It looks like a radio button but you can toggle it on/off. In the attached form I created an exclusion radio button group called 'bestCustomerComparison'. If you toggle 'notApplicable' on, it resets the exclusion group and makes the group 'readOnly'. If you toggle 'notApplicable' off, you can select a radio button in the group.