Expand my Community achievements bar.

Auto-filling proceeding fields from user's initial input - Possible? How?

Level 1

Hi there,

I'm quite new to LiveCycle (and scripting). That being said, I'm trying to create some automation in forms for work.

I've been asked to create a product order form in which the Order Administrator would choose the product from a list of Product Codes. Once s/he chooses the Product Code [numeric field] from this list, the Product Description [text field] appears right next to it, and then the Product Price [numeric field] would populate the last field. I will duplicate this over multiple rows into a table, then autosum the last column which should be filled with various product prices, taxes, S&H, etc. (autosumming the Price field is easy enough - this is not my issue so let's just focus on the major concern of auto-filling descriptions and prices for now...)

For e.g.

Product CodeDescriptionPrice
6759-85746-098 [Order Admin chooses from list]Large textbook (x1) [Automatically inputs based on Product Code]$30.00 [Auto-inputs from Product Code]
5864-98723-124   Black pens (x10/set)$5.25

I've tried for days to figure out how to script this, going through numerous forums, printing off reams of Adobe help documents, trying to learn Java and/or FormCalc in solitude, and yet I still can't figure this out. To explain, I'm not a coder/developer but a print-focused graphic designer.

If anyone knows how I can solve this I'd be very grateful. I'm now wondering if a) I need to somehow connect (bind?) the information in an external database or sheet (Excel?), b) figure out some elaborate script that would automate these descriptions and prices, and/or c) bang my head against the wall in fruitless frustration.

Thanks for any help anyone can offer.

7 Replies

Level 6

A simple example.  May not meet your needs depending on the number of products.

Droplist named ProductCode

Text Fields named Description and Price