Expand my Community achievements bar.

Allowing text fields to break across pages

Level 1

I'm new to using LiveCycle and Adobe to set up forms.  I'm trying to get a text field to expand to fit and break across pages.  I have the subform and the text field set up to allow breaks, but it's not working.  I suspect that it has something to do with the error message shown in the picture, but haven't been able to figure how to correct it.

Please help.

P.S. In case you can't read it, the message says, "Although the object is allowed to break, deselecting the Allow Page Breaks Within Content option of the parent object restricts this object from breaking between pages."  I assume the subform is the parent object and it's selected to allow breaks as is the text field.

adobe picture.png

9 Replies

Level 10

The subform that the text field is in needs to be set to Flowed and Allow Page Breaks and as well as having Allow Multiple Lines checked for the text field you'll need to have Expand to Fit checked on the Layout palette.

And then make sure you're saving the form as Dynamic (File > Save As).

Level 1

I selected subform1 and have it set to flowed and allow page breaks. The Pagination tab is completely grayed out.

I selected the text field and it's set for allowing multiple lines and allow page breaks. Expand to fit for height is selected.

I have the form saved as dynamic.

The field grows, but doesn't break. Nor, does the second subform / text field move down as the first one grows.

I need to apply this to another form, and wanted to see if I could get it to work before applying it to the real form.

I've attached my sample I've been working in case you see something I'm not doing right.

Thanks. (I'm using version 8.2)

L.L.M.

Level 10

Attachments don't work here - you'll have to share via acrobat.com or something like that.

Level 1

Hi there,

I am attempting to complete the same task as this and having the same difficulty.