Expand my Community achievements bar.

Radically easy to access on brand approved content for distribution and omnichannel performant delivery. AEM Assets Content Hub and Dynamic Media with OpenAPI capabilities is now GA.
SOLVED

Add n Instances of Fragment

Level 2

Please forgive me, I'm very new to the world of LiveCycle and JavaScript, and flying by the seat of my pants.

Pretty basic form requesting information.  Starts off with a numeric field where a user enters a value. Then I've got a fragment, which is just a collection of the same fields.  What I'd like to do is have n repetitions of that fragment based upon the value of the numeric field.  (Which is why I went with a fragment, it's the same stuff over and over.  To me, the documentation on LiveCycle says that such a situation is exactly what fragments are for. And since table sections *can't* be repeated via the addInstance, I figured a fragment would be quick and easy.)

For the life of me, I just can't get it.  My code, if interested is:

var nCount = xfa.resolveNode("Board.Sub.NumericField26").rawValue;

var nItems = Board.InsertionPoint.Sub1._BoardMember.count

if (nCount > nItems)

{

var nInstance = nCount - nItems

for(i=1; nInstance; i++)

{

Board.InsertionPoint.Sub1._BoardMember.addInstance(1)

}

}

nCount works, nItems works, nInstance works, but it just isn't adding additional instances.  The longer goal is to have it remove instances as well if the numeric field changes to a lower value. But first things first.

I did find some great information about predicates over here.  I'd love to have such optimized code, but I'm struggling with even the more basic stuff.  VBA in Excel is much more comfortable to me.

Thanks in advance for any help with what has to be something pretty dang basic.

1 Accepted Solution

Correct answer by
Level 7

Hey,

Just a thought. I think your "if" isn't needed. The "for" checks that. And,

for(i=0; i<nInstance; i++)

or

for(i=1; i<nInstance+1; i++)