Expand my Community achievements bar.

Multi-Line Drop Down List - Need HELP!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Former Community Member
OK..I am a noobie to the Designer process --- this is my first time putting a document together.

I have a question:

I have created a form in which I have a drop down list. However, there is only so much text that is "visible" in the form (there is no room to expand)

As it will not wrpa around to a second line, is there a way to have the drop down do multi-lines (for just one selection)?

i.e. to look like this in the form:

BCS 3243

CORROSIVE, UN1824, PGII, 8, MATERIAL SAFETY DATA SHEET ATTACHED

Does this make sense?

Thanks

Chris
6 Replies

Former Community Member
I don't know anyway to automatically wrap a list item. But it can be done manually. The list item would need a hard-return somewhere in the string to force it to wrap. This can't be done using the Designer UI, but it can be done through script.

Using javascript:

xfa.resolveNode("form1.#subform[0].ListBox1").addItem("This item1 is\nwrapped.")

xfa.resolveNode("form1.#subform[0].ListBox1").addItem("This item2 is\nwrapped.")

xfa.resolveNode("form1.#subform[0].ListBox1").addItem("This item3 is\nwrapped.")

Mark

Former Community Member
Mark;

Actually....I'd prefer to do it manually.

However, I am such a Noob that I don't know how to accomplish this by Javascript.

Can someone walk me through the basics?

Thanks

Chris

Former Community Member
Chris:

If you put the above script in the initialize event of the list box that should do the trick. Unfortunately, I just realized you are trying to do this with a dropdown list. I should have read your issue more carefully. Sorry. Unfortunately, it doesn't work for dropdown lists, which leads me to believe that it is not possible.

Mark.

Former Community Member