Expand my Community achievements bar.

Learn about Edge Delivery Services in upcoming GEM session

Hiding an Object on the Master Page

Former Community Member
I'm searching for an answer to a problem: how do you hide an object that's located on the master page of a form??

I have a text field on the master page of my form that displays a predefined string value. I would like to hide this text object (or remove the value) when the form is printed but have the object and/or text re-displayed afterwards. I've tried the following solutions with no success:

- Setting the presence of the object to invisible in the prePrint event and setting the presence back to visible using the postPrint.

- Setting the font color to white in the prePrint event and setting the font color back to black using the postPrint.

- Setting the value of the object to an empty string in the prePrint event and setting the value back to the predefined string value using the postPrint event.

- Setting the relevant property of the object to "-print" in the XML source of the form.

My LiveCycle and javascript knowledge is fairly limited so I'm not sure if I'm approaching this in the wrong way. Any help would be much appreciated...
9 Replies

Former Community Member
Have you tried changing the presence of the field? You can run a search for "Changing the presence of a form design object" in your Designer Help, there are scripting samples in there to help you. The only catch is that you have to save the form as a dynamic form in order to change the presence of an object. You should be able to make the object invisible in the click event of your print button.

Former Community Member
David,