Expand my Community achievements bar.

Drop Down Box scripting (JS)

Former Community Member
Hi

Reviewing some of the other postings, I've been able to set up a Drop Down Box, script getting the selection and using it to populate a Text Field Box with a variable's value (depending on which Drop Down Box item is selected by the user, this will set the text field's value):

//placed in the change event

var sNewValue = this.boundItem(xfa.event.newText)

TextField1.rawValue = sNewValue

This works OK. However, I am unable to successfully script a conditional action if sNewValue = a specific value (for example "value1"), to have it execute another action making a check box visible (this check box, on initialize, has the script: this.presence = "invisible")I've tried adding an "if" for example:

if (sNewValue = "value1")

{

CheckBox7.presence = "visible"

}

This doesn't work.

I'm relatively new to LiveCycle and using JS to script in it and can't figure out how to script this additional conditional action triggered by the user choosing one specific item in the drop down list.

Any help would be appreciated.

Kind Regards,

Stephen
10 Replies

Former Community Member
In javascript to do a comparison between values you need a double = so your code would be:

if (sNewValue == "value1")

{

}

Also make sure that your form is being rendered as dynamic.

Former Community Member
Hi Paul,

Thank you for your reply. I still can't get this to work. The form is saved as XML (.xdp), so I think this is dynamic (form has several other dynamic interactive features).

The JS I am using in the DropDown List Box's change event is:

var sNewValue = this.boundItem(xfa.event.newText)

TextField1.rawValue = sNewValue

if (sNewValue == "coronary artery disease, early onset: (male) <55, (female) <65")//value given to the corresponding drop down text item

{

TextField2.rawValue = CAD.value

}