Expand my Community achievements bar.

Guidelines for the Responsible Use of Generative AI in the Experience Cloud Community.

Creating a foolproof Workflow?

Former Community Member
Hi there. I'm new to Designer and have been given several tasks by my company. One of which involves moving to a PDF workflow for manufacturing. I have set up our process flow by making a series of tables with all the information operators will need for each manufacturing step. Users will complete the steps by digitally signing the step(s) they worked on.

My questions are (in order of importance):

1. Is there a way to make it so the signature block in step 2 (for example) can't be signed until someone has signed the block in step 1, to help insure steps aren't done out of order (this flow has 18 steps total)?

2. Each table also has a cell dedicated to an AutoCAD drawing used for that particular step. Is there a way to add hyperlinks to these drawings?

Thanks in advance,

Justin
11 Replies

Level 7
You should consider carefully that digital signatures always apply to

a document, not to a portion of it. The position of a signature field

is almost arbitrary in that world. It might be that what you are

describing is going to be a too-strained adaptation of a paper based

workflow (where signatures can be considered to be localised).

But not everyone may agree with me.

Aandi Inston

Former Community Member
The document itself will be controlled but we need some way of indicating that steps were done and a better way than digital signatures escapes me. The processes in question are for gov't/defense related work where the password authentication and watermark associated with the signatures is a plus. I'm not sure whether this is even possible, but again it would be nice to make it "foolproof"so that the steps must be signed off in sequence.

Thanks,

Justin

Former Community Member
You can do it with tools other than Adobe Acrobat.

Former Community Member