Expand my Community achievements bar.

Dive into Adobe Summit 2024! Explore curated list of AEM sessions & labs, register, connect with experts, ask questions, engage, and share insights. Don't miss the excitement.

Create a Spreadsheet from Form Data

Former Community Member
I am not that great when it comes to spreadsheets!

I have created a simple "conference registration" form and added a "submit by email" button. Form works perfectly and emails perfectly.

Data arrives at my email address. I save the file to desktop and then open Acrobat Professional 7.

I select the FILE >> FORM DATA >> CREATE A SPREADSHEET FROM DATA FILES menu.

The spreadsheet data is created. The CSV file is created.

Opening the Excel spreadsheet produces undesirable results (remember, I am not very good with spreadsheets!!)

I end up with one row of illegible data with text added to field names (e..g F[0] 1[0] etc.

>>>>> What I can't see is the answers/responses to each of the fields in the form that was emailed?

I am assuming this is a format thing in Excel and I've no idea what to do.

Any help is very much appreciated. THANKS!!
11 Replies

Former Community Member
I 've just tried what you discribe in this post. What you actually get in your spreadsheet is the name of the document and the field names in XFA conventional notation.

You could have saved the data with the form after you import the data that you received in your email and export it to the spreadsheet. This way, besides the field names and document names, you will have all the values (that are answers/responses) in your spreadsheet.

Former Community Member
Thanks for your reply Jimmy ..

When you say: "I could have saved the data with the form after you import the data ... from the email and export it in the spreadsheet"

===> Can you tell me how I do this?

Thanks again!

Former Community Member
1) Save the xml data file you receive from the email on your system.

2) Open the pdf form in Acrobat.