Expand my Community achievements bar.

SOLVED

Event Forwarding vs Server Side API

Level 2

What are the capability differences between implementing the WebSDK client-side and utilizing Event forwarding compared to using the Server Side API for things like data collection and/or deployment of 3rd Party Tags?

Are there any differences specifically related to things like 3rd Party Cookie Deprecation (will one method protect you better from this), Safari / Apple ITP, and setting FPID that are enabled by one method or another?

1 Accepted Solution

Correct answer by
Community Advisor

Since you have cookie consent, then I would expect that there would be data loss because some users deny consent to be tracked. And if users are denying consent, then shouldn't you respect their decision instead of trying to overcome it by collecting their data anyway?

I'm not a lawyer nor legally trained. I'm sharing the above based on what I understand to be the expected outcome for having cookie consent.

View solution in original post

9 Replies

Community Advisor

Firstly, for tracking to Adobe products (Analytics, Audience Manager, Target, Campaign), you'd need to implement client-side Web SDK and corresponding datastreams with the included Adobe services. Event Forwarding doesn't apply for Adobe products.

For 3rd party tracking, Event Forwarding might help with more accurate measurement by circumventing some browser restrictions, though it still depends on Web SDK to send data that can only be collected from the client side, e.g. page URL, data in your data layer, etc. Personally, I won't assume that using Event Forwarding would result in full 100% coverage of all site traffic, because there could still be some technical limitations that prevent such full coverage.

Level 3

hi @yuhuisg when you tell "Event Forwarding doesn't apply for Adobe products." at the end of 1st para.

Can't we capture AA data via events forwarding?

Community Advisor