Expand my Community achievements bar.

Dive into Adobe Summit 2024! Explore curated list of AEM sessions & labs, register, connect with experts, ask questions, engage, and share insights. Don't miss the excitement.

Is there a community project for using images from another AEM server?

Level 3

Hi, I'm a Drupal Developer who is transitioning to AEM.  In Drupal, there's a community module (free and open source) named "Stage File Proxy."  It lets you use your local development sandbox without worrying about installing gigantic sets of images.  You simply configure your sandbox to point to an external server that contains all the images you're interested in.  If your sandbox requests an image that doesn't exist, it instead tries to render it from the server, and optionally installs it locally.

I would love to work on a community project like that in AEM if it doesn't exist.  Unfortunately, my current AEM/Java knowledge is very limited, and like almost anyone reading this, my time is very constrained due to current job demands.  Thanks in advance for any recommendations that can help avoid reinventing the wheel.  If you are currently working on something like this, please let me know, and I'll gladly help any way I can (coding, testing, documentation).

-Nestor

10 Replies

Level 10

WIth AEM - best practice is to place the assets in the local AEM DAM. As you are new to AEM and the DAM - i recommend that you watch this webinar on the DAM -- Scott's Digital Community: Ask the AEM Community Expert Session: Best Practices for Experience Manag...

Level 3

@smacdonald, thanks very much for that link--will check it out.  I'm fairly familiar with AEM architecture but a lowly novice AEM developer.  It'll be a good six months to a year before I have the skills to create something like I described.  Was hoping there was a clever community module out there that when enabled:

-intercepts the request for an image (possibly a servlet filter)