Expand my Community achievements bar.

SOLVED

Dynamic Tab Component

Former Community Member

Hi all,

I am new to AEM and just wondering if the following is possible:

I am really having a hard time trying to find out if it is.

Requirement:

To have a cq:dialog that has 2 nodes.

1.) Title for a tab

2.) Content of the tab (a component)

If a tab is clicked, it will show the component that is related with it.

It has to be dynamic where if an Author wants to add another tab they are able to add it and give it a title and reference a different component.

Basically I want something like googles navigation but will have different components per different tab.

Screen Shot 2017-10-05 at 12.28.38 PM.png

Thanks,

Somnia

1 Accepted Solution

Correct answer by
Level 10

Components are typically dropped into a parsys that is part of a web page from the side rail (or sidekick in Classic). A parsys can be within another component - such as the grid layout component - as shown here.

Client.png

However - I am not following you when you say a component can be dragged into a tab. A component is dropped into the parsys - which by default, states: Drag components here.

See this AEM doc topic for a better understanding of components and how they relate to the AEM Paragraph system:

AEM Components - The Basics

The only way i can think of is to create an AEM page and then code it so it displays tabs in the rendered view- like the Movie example - where it renders using tabs - see Movie component pic above.

View solution in original post

7 Replies

Level 10

With AEM - you can build custom components that have multi tabs in the components dialog (to address your business requirements).

Each tab has a different UI that lets an author enter different values. A component dialog is built as a JCR structure (as you are new - you may not have known this).

We have articles that show how to build components that contain multi-tabs in the dialog - like this one:

outputATouch.png