Expand my Community achievements bar.

July 31st AEM Gems Webinar: Elevate your AEM development to master the integration of private GitHub repositories within AEM Cloud Manager.
SOLVED

Customizing validation for asset metadata fields

Level 2

I'm trying to customize the validation for a couple of Asset Metadata fields. I need to make the Title and Description required. I also need to implement additional restrictions on the field values (no capital letters, no blank spaces, etc..., but I could do that on the js file). I have a few questions:

1) Why is my overlay attempt not working? (summary of what I did to follow)

2) What is the location of the javascript files that manage those fields? I wish to implement the rest of the validation there but I can't seem to find the appropriate files to edit and overlay. As a follow up, what is the recommended way to find the client side code under libs. I'm a backend dev with limited front end experience. I can work with the browser dev tools, but I often feel like I'm going through a wild goose chase.

I am able to make the fields required by adding the required parameter in the following nodes under libs

/libs/dam/content/schemaeditors/forms/default/items/tabs/items/tab1/items/col1/items/title

/libs/dam/content/schemaeditors/forms/default/items/tabs/items/tab1/items/col1/items/description

However, I when I attempted to overlay those nodes under apps I was not successful, the fields go back to not being required. I recreated the following nodes, including the required="{Boolean}true" parameter, and deleting the parameter from the nodes under libs since the ones under apps should take precedence.

/apps/dam/content/schemaeditors/forms/default/items/tabs/items/tab1/items/col1/items/title

/apps/dam/content/schemaeditors/forms/default/items/tabs/items/tab1/items/col1/items/description

cow_editing.png

required_field.png

Any help will be much appreciated

1 Accepted Solution

Correct answer by
Level 10

Hi David,