Expand my Community achievements bar.

Guidelines for the Responsible Use of Generative AI in the Experience Cloud Community.
SOLVED

Clarity About ResourceResolver

Level 2

Hey I'm new to AEM, I am learning about  Resource and ResourceResolver. So, I encounter with different codes from different websites while I'm learning.

So some are using 

@SlingObject

private ResourceResolver resourceResolver;

and we can also get the object of ResourceResolver by using resourceResolverFactory along with system user.

• So can I know what is the difference between both ResourceResolver object's? 
  • If i'm getting ResourceResolver using @SlingObject then what is the use of getting resourceResolver with system user?

1 Accepted Solution

Correct answer by
Community Advisor

In general and simplistically, resolurceResolver can be divided into two parts.

ResouceResolver from Request: 

Syntax: request.getResourceResolver / @SlingObject

Usages: When performing general operations on resources that are normally inaccessible to regular users.

Permission: User permission is reflected on this resorceResolver.

ResourceResolver from ResourceResolverFactory

Syntax: resourceResolverService.getResourceResolver(), with the implementation of an interface and the help of resourceResolverFactory

Usages: When you need to operate on special resources like under /etc, write operation under /content or like this.

Permission: Special permission can be provided for different users. By factory method in runtime, the necessary user can be picked up and do the job.  An example can be Service User.

These are very simplified talks, when you deep dive into it you can discover more, and by business requirement, you can able to implement more complex scenarios.

View solution in original post

5 Replies

Employee Advisor