Expand my Community achievements bar.

Dive into Adobe Summit 2024! Explore curated list of AEM sessions & labs, register, connect with experts, ask questions, engage, and share insights. Don't miss the excitement.
SOLVED

AEM development environment set up

Former Community Member

Hi,

I am new to AEM, can anyone please guide me about how to set up the development environment.I am using windows 64 bit desktop.

1 Accepted Solution

Correct answer by
Employee

Below is a very good guide on setting up your environment and tutorial on developing a site in AEM

Adobe Experience Manager Help | Getting Started with AEM Sites - WKND Tutorial

Regards,

Opkar

View solution in original post

3 Replies

Administrator

Read this:- Run Modes

//There are two pairs of mutually exclusive run modes; for example, you can:

• define either author or publish, not both at the same time
  • combine author with either samplecontent or nosamplecontent (but not both)

So default when you open AEM instance by double-clicking, it will open author + samplecontent Which is used by devs.

There is one more concept here to open AEM instance in Debug mode: java -jar cq-quickstart-6.0.0.jar -debug 10123

Read more here:- How to Develop AEM Projects using IntelliJ IDEA

~kautuk

Kautuk Sahni

Level 7

Hi,

Refer below links which helps you to get started and setup the development environment -

https://docs.adobe.com/docs/en/aem/6-3/deploy.html#Getting%20Started

https://docs.adobe.com/docs/en/aem/6-3/deploy/command-line-start-and-stop.html

For developing on AEM it is quite common to use an instance installed on your local machine running Apple OS X or desktop versions of Microsoft Windows or Linux. For more information, refer: Technical Requirements