Expand my Community achievements bar.

Learn about Edge Delivery Services in upcoming GEM session

AEM 6.3 - registering Servlets with paths

Level 4

Hi all,

I have a servlet that I am trying to register at the /feed path. It will be a servlet that takes GET requests and returns out some data.

My servlet has this path at the top when registering it.

@SlingServlet(paths = "/feed", methods = "GET", metatype = true)

I also went into the Apache Sling Servlet/Script Resolver and Error Handler and added the /feed/ path as one of the allowed scripts.

1462510_pastedImage_0.png

However, whenever I visit localhost:4502/feed, I get a 403 forbidden error. I see that it gets to my class and path, but it throws a 403 regardless.

However, If I move the servlet to /bin/feed, I can visit it successfully without a 403 error.

Is there a way to have servlets registered at paths without having the /bin/ path in front of them? I am pretty new to java servlets so any advice/suggestions would definitely go a long way.

Thanks

Brendan.

5 Replies

Level 10

I personally have only used syntax like:

@SlingServlet(paths="/bin/mySearchServlet", methods = "POST", metatype=true)

public class HandleClaim extends org.apache.sling.api.servlets.SlingAllMethodsServlet {

Why is using /bin an issue?

Level 10

Also - keep in mind - if you are using new DS OSGi annotations - then the syntax is

@Component(service=Servlet.class,

property={

Constants.SERVICE_DESCRIPTION + "=Simple Demo Servlet",

"sling.servlet.methods=" + HttpConstants.METHOD_POST,

"sling.servlet.paths="+ "/bin/myDataSourcePoolServlet"

})

public class SimpleServlet extends SlingAllMethodsServlet {

Community Advisor

Per Apache Sling, there are different ways to register a servlet path.