Expand my Community achievements bar.

Announcing the launch of new sub-community for Campaign Web UI to cater specifically to the needs of Campaign Web UI users!
SOLVED

Cannot Open File - Data Extract

Level 5

I am unsure how to diagnose this error.

05/22/2019 7:58:40 AM BAS-010015 Cannot open file '/home/myfilepath.csv' with write access (errno=13, Permission denied)

I am a full admin, there should not be any permission issues.

1 Accepted Solution

Correct answer by
Community Advisor

Hi,

The /home dir is normally owned by root group, so you have these options:

• Change permission of /home to 777 -don't do this
  • Add neolane to root group, change permission to 775 -worse
  • Change group ownership of /home to another group with neolane in it (new group with root+neolane(?))  and set 775 -not great, but will work
  • Use another dir neolane already has access to, like /tmp or /usr/local/neolane/nl6/var/<instance> -better
  • Create a new dir like /var/neolane and grant access to it, make sure instance conf grants access to it if on a newer build -best

Thanks,

-Jon

View solution in original post

3 Replies

Correct answer by
Community Advisor

Hi,

The /home dir is normally owned by root group, so you have these options:

• Change permission of /home to 777 -don't do this
  • Add neolane to root group, change permission to 775 -worse
  • Change group ownership of /home to another group with neolane in it (new group with root+neolane(?))  and set 775 -not great, but will work
  • Use another dir neolane already has access to, like /tmp or /usr/local/neolane/nl6/var/<instance> -better
  • Create a new dir like /var/neolane and grant access to it, make sure instance conf grants access to it if on a newer build -best

Thanks,

-Jon

Employee

Very well explained indeed Jon.

We generally follow the 3rd procedure of having root+neolane in one group.

davidl14970702 -