Expand my Community achievements bar.

Join us at Adobe Summit 2024 for the Coffee Break Q&A Live series, a unique opportunity to network with and learn from expert users, the Adobe product team, and Adobe partners in a small group, 30 minute AMA conversations.
SOLVED

Issue while "Saving As" the existing report

Level 2

Hi team,

I am new to this tool and try to create an report for our market brand combination. I have already created a draft version of my report and when i try to change the databases and filters ( in quick segment), it somehow gets reflected back to my original report.

I tried to use two different methods; at first i tried to create a copy and then implement the changes which didn't solved my problem and secondly i tried to implement the changes in the original one and try saving as under different name.

Anyone please help me here as i have been struggling with this from long time now.

Thanks 

AS

1 Accepted Solution

Correct answer by
Community Advisor

Yeah... this is a common issue... so I should start by explaining that when you create segments (whether they are permanent public segments that are available in your components area, or they are AdHoc segments "tied to the specific report"), there is actually a segment with a proper ID create in the DB (you just don't see it).

So let's say you create a report called "Report A" and in Report A, you created a segment called "Page X".

Even though you haven't saved the segment publicly, in the background it's been created with a ID 12345.

When you make a copy of "Report A" and call it "Report B"... it's still linked to the segment with id 12345.

So any changes you make the this saved segment will affect both reports.. as you are saving changes to ID 12345.