Expand my Community achievements bar.

Join us for the next Community Q&A Coffee Break on Tuesday April 23, 2024 with Eric Matisoff, Principal Evangelist, Analytics & Data Science, who will join us to discuss all the big news and announcements from Summit 2024!
SOLVED

How can I send custom events to Analytics?

Level 2

Hi,

I'm very new to this, up to today I only worked with Clicky and Google Analytics.
The lack of videos about how to, using javascript, send custom events to Adobe Analytics, makes it hard to figure out the best way.

I have this from the client:

Category (SC_LeadGen) is sent over eVar70 as a text value. The other tests we run are sent over the same EVAR when we come so far:

Category

label

Action

Description

Event

SC_LeadGen

OPEN_A

shown

Sent when design version A is being shown

SC_LeadGen

Open_B

shown

Sent when design version B is being shown

SC_LeadGen

OPEN_A

CTA_Click

Sent when a user clicks on the CTA button in design version A

SC_LeadGen

Open_B

CTA_Click

Sent when a user clicks on the CTA button in design version B

SC_LeadGen

OPEN_A

Submit_Success

Sent when a user has clicked the button in version A landing on the acknowledgment page for registration

SC_LeadGen

Open_B

Submit_Success

Sent when a user has clicked the button in version B lands on the acknowledgment page for registration

from what I can gather, and that's not much, is that:

- the Adobe Analytics global variable is "s"

- I can from there, change and set for example s.eVar70 = "Something useful"

but how can I send event ids actions? how, from a client-side javascript I can submit actions on those events?
after set s.eVar70 = "Something useful" what is the other command that actually sends the new data back to Analytics?

Thank you for your help.

1 Accepted Solution

Correct answer by
Level 10

There are two type of tracking calls:

• page view call s.t() — it sets Page dimension and increments Page Views metric (apart the other vars)