Expand my Community achievements bar.

AEP Web SDK migration

Level 2

Hi everyone, I am new to AEP Web SDK and I am trying to migrate some of our codes.

How can I able to implement the manual sending of beacon and manual clearing of variables in AEP Web SDK? Attached image is my current implementation in AA. Thank you.

avocadoLover2022_0-1720599466223.png

Topics

Topics help categorize Community content and increase your ability to discover relevant content.

12 Replies

Level 2

Hello,

With the AEP Web SDK, it is a whole new way of tracking !
i recommend to use the extension Adobe Experience Platform Web SDK and the "Send event" action (see my screenshot)
For clearVars(), i am currently working on my migration and i think, it is no longer needed but it depend on your website and technology.

Best regards

Level 2

Hi @cserrurier 

But I have another custom code in the Set Variables that is also in the same rule that uses Data Element. So in one Action, I have two ways of setting. First is, by manually sending beacon. Second is, using a data element. Would you recommend that I separate this two? Should I make another rule for my currently manual sending of beacon implementation and use the "Send Event" action?

Level 2

Hello,
It is difficult to answer without the code.
Can you share a screenshot of your Custom code Action ?

Best regards

Level 2

avocadoLover2022_0-1720601447893.png

here is my code. the "pre-sorted" functions as a different event(since it is coming from other page), it has a separate beacon event2. while for the "user sorted" i have append that in my link click event, so when it is "user sorted" event2, event10 will trigger.

Level 2

Hello,

Thanks for sharing.

I always recommend to separate action in different rules so i think, you can set 2 rules, condition on your dataElement %preSortingTrackin% and using the extension actions as possible.

Best regards

Level 6

Hi @avocadoLover2022