When a system admin is doing large bulk updates, especially on historical data or back-end data, they often do not need to notify the project owner, etc. of the update. These notifications happen when a closed project has to be reopened, updated and reclosed. This causes confusion to project owners as to why an old project is being touched.
Suggestion: On bulk update, add a checkbox to "disable notifications during this bulk update"