Expand my Community achievements bar.

SOLVED

Show recommendation based on Category affinity

Level 2

Hi, I am new to Target.  I am trying to show recommendation based on category affinity. I have used user based recommendation algorithm with the filter key as user.categoryAffinities inside the criteria. But the recommendation is not populating. I tried to find the document on category affinity but in every document it tells about experience targeting and not the recommendation activity. 

Could any one can help me to cater the recommendation on the above mentioned scenario. 

Thanks in advance. 

Deepak Kumar

Topics

Topics help categorize Community content and increase your ability to discover relevant content.

1 Accepted Solution

Correct answer by
Employee

Hello Deepak,

The Recommendations Algorithms that will work with Category affinities (assuming they are populated correctly) are:

• Popularity-Based - Most Viewed by Category - Favorite Category
  • Popularity-Based - Top Sellers by Category - Favorite Category

Or you can also decide to choose between different other Recommendations Algorithms and use the Inclusion Rules section to  dynamically filter with the category affinity array.

To do so, you need to:

• Go on the Inclusion Rules section
  • Select Add Filtering Rule
  • Choose Profile Attribute Matching
  • In Choose an entity attribute, select any catalog attribute you want to dynamically match (if you have setup your catalog with proper Adobe's guidelines, you'll select category)
  • Next, select the proper Evaluator
  • Finally, on Choose a profile attribute, you'll select user.categoryAffinities

The recommendation engine is ultra powerful when you start playing with the inclusion rules, so my suggestion is that you do thorough testing and I'm sure you'll find the right combinaison to achieve your actual and future goals.

View solution in original post

6 Replies

Level 3