Expand my Community achievements bar.

Regarding the tutorial on creating a lookup table from a database

Former Community Member
Hi all,

I am writing this in response to the tutorial on populating a form from a database. Though it is functional, I find the tutorial too short and it does not explain on what the code does. It really does not explain very clearly on why we need to use javascript for the drop down list and suddenly we have to use FormCalc for the refresh button.

The strangest of all things is why do we need a Refresh button when we can just implement the 'refresh' functionality within the drop down list?

Pardon me, but can any kind soul out there explain what the code does?? I am just getting started to Adobe LiveCycle Designer but I am so lost in this maze where the LiveCycle Designer help manual does not 'help' much and I have searched through books on Acrobat 7 and all of them , if they do touch on LiveCycle Designer, only 'touch' on the surface and explain very superficially on what it can do.

Can anyone out there also suggest how I get started on using LiveCycle Designer especially on the part of connecting to a database? Any help would be appreciated.

Thanks for reading!
4 Replies

Former Community Member
Hi Peggy:

There's a small issue with that tutorial, in that it tells you that you need to write all that JS code...

That's not exactly true. Under "Custom" in the "Library" palette, there's an option for "Data drop-down list". If you drag that to your form, you can easily populate the list of form elements from a database. I'm working on writing up a small tutorial on how to connect to a MySQL database under Windows.

The code at the end, though it is FormCalc, could also be JS based. I'll be showing that in the tutorial as well.

What other, specific, questions did you have?

Mike

Former Community Member