Expand my Community achievements bar.

Pop up appears when form is opened?

Level 2
I am new to JavaScript and I have the following script that I hope someone can help me with.

I am using LiveCycle Designer 7.0 from Acrobat Professional. I am trying to validate the entry in a test field. I want to make sure that the four digit year is not less than the current year and can be a year in the future.

My problem is when the form is opened in Reader the alert box pops up before the actual form. When I key in the field the validation seems to be working. What do I need to do to stop the alert from showing when the form is first opened?

----- form1.Alabama.Yr::validate - (JavaScript, client) -------------------

var today = new Date();

var year = today.getFullYear();

if (this.rawValue === year || this.rawValue < year)

{

app.alert("Year is not correct.");

Yr.rawValue = null;

}

Much thanks in advance.
6 Replies

Former Community Member
Maybe add the script to field's 'exit' event

Former Community Member
Hi Nancy,

Validation scripts are useful and provide built-in capabilities you should be aware of.

First, the script is meant to validate the fields value. If the expression is true, the validation will succeed. If false, the validation will fails. If the validation fails, the message specified in Object palette > Value tab > Validation Script Message will be displayed.

Your script should look something like so:

var today = new Date();

(this.rawValue == year || this.rawValue == year+1)

If you check the Error check box beside the Validation Script Message, the user wont be able to submit the form until a valid year is provided. The message should let the user know what value is valid.