Expand my Community achievements bar.

LiveCycle Designer 8-scripting search Access DB records

Former Community Member
Hi

I am new to LiveCycle Designer 8 having it included with Acrobat Pro 8. I have been trying to set up a basic form that can interact with an Access 2007 DB. Following the help guide, online tutorials, I have been able to set up the data connection, figure out how to establish a "trusted environment" and added several buttons as a test. Using JS, the next, previous, update, first and last buttons work, populating the form fields with the sample DB data and updating the DB (update). Can't get the add new record button to work even though the JS scripting is precisely that shown in the same tutorials for the other buttons. If I delete the text in the on screen cells in the .pdf form, enter new text, click add, all that I added disappears. Checking the DB, nothing has been added. Same difficulty with deleting a record, and the current opened record does not delete.

Reading a posting suggesting setting up an SQL query instead, leaving of any auto-incrementing item (like ID), and using the JS scripting for the button (don't yet know how to use SQL for next, previous, update, etc.), still couldn't get the add new or delete to work. Tried every combo of no user name, no password to user name, password blank, etc. No success.