Expand my Community achievements bar.

Guidelines for the Responsible Use of Generative AI in the Experience Cloud Community.

List box selections to a Text Box.

Former Community Member
I am currently building a form that uses the addInstance feature to allow for more than one security registration per page. In the form, we have a drop down menu with a list of security related choices (e.g., user can have option 1, 2, 3, 4, 5 for security). I would like a script that allows the users to make choices from this drop down menu, and those choices are recorded in a text box next to the drop down. This save the space of having to provide Radio Buttons for each choice. Any help would be appreciated as I am very new to Livecycle designer.
9 Replies

Former Community Member
Ms Gorham,

What you want to do is rather simple but I am wondering why you would have someone select something in a drop down and then want to put that in another field. Why not just have them select the level in the drop down and leave it at that?

Rick Kuhlmann

Former Community Member
Rick,

We have about 35 choices the user can make in the drop down box (list box) and the person can have 1 or all 35 choices. Most users of this form will print out the results, therefore we are unable to just leave it where they can select multiple options from the drop down (list box) menu. So, we need the selections they make from this list to print somewhere on the form, so that it can be printed, signed and turned into our security staff. We were going to use radio boxes, but having that many takes up way to much space and looks very cluttered. Hope that helps?

Former Community Member
Ms. Gorham,

Here is what you can do to acheive the desired effect:

1. In the "change" event of the drop down or list box add the following:

var nt = xfa.event.newText;

if (TextField1.rawValue == null) {

TextField1.rawValue = nt;

}

else {

var tf = xfa.resolveNode("Page1.TextField1").rawValue;