Expand my Community achievements bar.

calculations overflow/underflow

Former Community Member
Does anyone know what formcalc scripting would be necessary to get rid of the arithmetic overflow/underflow error?

I know that some of my calculations are dependent upon other variables that require value input before anything is set with the others.

I've read a suggestion to 'surround the calculation with a check to ensure that the variables are non-zero, non-null.'

But I'm not sure how to go about this...I'm new at this, so an example would be really helpful! Thanks~
5 Replies

Former Community Member
This script would protect against a divide by zero error:

if (someField.rawValue ne 0) then

26 / someField.rawValue

else

endif

Chris

Adobe Enterprise Developer Support

Level 1

Chris,

If you wanted to place "n/a" in a numeric field if someField.rawValue did equal zero, how would you do that?

Former Community Member
thanks, that helps! but i still have a few questions...

I'm assuming this script goes under initialize?

Also, I have calculations within calculations... does this script need to be repeated for each sub-calculation? i.e.:

if 'I_f' is dependent upon 'Ftotal', would I have to insert under initialize:

'if (Ftotal.rawValue ne 0) then

26 / Ftotal.rawValue

else

endif

if (I_f.rawValue ne 0) then

26 / I_f.rawValue

else

endif'

Former Community Member
Actually I assumed you wanted to the script to go under calculate, so I wrote it for that. If the script is going on initialiaze or any other event it would be similar and look like this:

if (someFiel.rawValue ne 0) then

$.rawValue = 26 / someField.rawValue

else

$.rawValue = 0

endif

Anytime there is a possibility that a value from a variable could cause a mathematically error and you don't want to happen you should check the value before running the calculation.

Chris

Adobe Enterprise Developer Support

Former Community Member
Okay, I've tried both options.