Expand my Community achievements bar.

Dive into Adobe Summit 2024! Explore curated list of AEM sessions & labs, register, connect with experts, ask questions, engage, and share insights. Don't miss the excitement.
SOLVED

Javascript Functions Running Twice

Former Community Member

Hi all -

I'm fairly new to AEM, and have run into an interesting issue. The component I'm building is going to be a financial application that our users fill out. (Think along the lines of filling out an application at a bank to open up a new account.)

I've got a couple of Javascript files in the component, and everything was working great yesterday. Then, at some point, all of my JS functions started running twice. I have one function that logs a "Hello World" to the console when the page is loaded, and it logs that value twice. Same for my jQuery functions - anything that fires on a click runs twice.

I'm not sure what happened to cause this. Like I said, it worked correctly for a while. Any ideas on what might be causing this?

1 Accepted Solution

Correct answer by
Level 10

Can you try packaging up the app and all the dependencies and try to deploy to a clean install of AEM. Lets rule out an issue with the AEM instance first.

View solution in original post

15 Replies

Level 10

Are you using ClientLibs to store the JS logic? If so - would they be loading twice somewhere?

Former Community Member

Yes, I'm using ClientLibs to store my JS. Here's a shot of my project below. I'm not sure if/how they could be getting loaded twice. Where would I look to see if that's the case?

Screen Shot 2017-08-25 at 10.05.45 AM.png

Level 10

IN which file are you specifying the reference to the clientlib. Make sure that you only have this line once:

<sly data-sly-use.clientLib="/libs/granite/sightly/templates/clientlib.html" data-sly-call="${clientLib.js @ categories='<NAME OF CLIENT LIB>}"

Former Community Member