Expand my Community achievements bar.

SOLVED

How to check since when AEM author/publisher instance is running?

Level 2

I am new to AEM development.

I have use-case to check since how long AEM author/publish instance is up and running. Can you suggest how can I achieve this through Java/jsp?

Thanks,

1 Accepted Solution

Correct answer by
Former Community Member

I am not sure if there is a function to get the directory. However, you can access the logs by just using the "crx-quickstart" when using the file path. For example: 

InputStream in = new FileInputStream(new File("crx-quickstart/logs/stdout.log"));

Here is an example component you could use to display the log file:

<%@include file="/libs/foundation/global.jsp"%> <%@page session="false" %> <%@ page import="java.util.*, java.io.*"%> <body> <% InputStream in = new FileInputStream(new File("crx-quickstart/logs/stdout.log")); BufferedReader reader = new BufferedReader(new InputStreamReader(in)); StringBuilder out2 = new StringBuilder(); String line; while ((line = reader.readLine()) != null) { out.append(line); } System.out.println(out2.toString());   //Prints the string content read from input stream reader.close(); %> </body>

If you make a component with this code, and add it to a page, it should output the file. It will be one big block of text, but the example should work.

View solution in original post

6 Replies

Level 10

You can use JMX to get the uptime. This [1] should help you on how to read JMX properties

[1] http://docs.adobe.com/docs/en/cq/5-6-1/developing/jmx-integration.html

Former Community Member

In order to check how long the the AEM author/publish instance has been up and running, you could use the stdout.txt log file that is located in your crx-quickstart folder under logs.