Your achievements

Level 1

0% to

Level 2

Tip /
Sign in

Sign in to Community

to gain points, level up, and earn exciting badges like the new
BedrockMission!

Learn More

View all

Sign in to view all badges

Deactivating - what does it actually do?

Avatar

Avatar
Level 1
andym17978582
Level 1

Likes

0 likes

Total Posts

3 posts

Correct Reply

0 solutions
View profile

Avatar
Level 1
andym17978582
Level 1

Likes

0 likes

Total Posts

3 posts

Correct Reply

0 solutions
View profile
andym17978582
Level 1

08-08-2018

If I deactivate a page in AEM, can I later activate it without losing any changes?

Someone wants me to revert changes I have published while they tweak the content. My team does not use the versioning feature (to save versions of pages), so I'm wondering whether deactivating effectively tells AEM to revert to the last published instance of the page (good) or to trash the page (bad).

Can I deactivate without losing content?

Any help appreciated.

Andy

Replies

Avatar

Avatar
Coach
MVP
Arun_Patidar
MVP

Likes

1,348 likes

Total Posts

3,226 posts

Correct Reply

916 solutions
Top badges earned
Coach
Contributor 2
Ignite 10
Give Back 700
Boost 1000
View profile

Avatar
Coach
MVP
Arun_Patidar
MVP

Likes

1,348 likes

Total Posts

3,226 posts

Correct Reply

916 solutions
Top badges earned
Coach
Contributor 2
Ignite 10
Give Back 700
Boost 1000
View profile
Arun_Patidar
MVP

08-08-2018

Hi Andy,

Deactivation of a page will remove/trash the page from publish.

While you do publish AEM creates version by default. You can check if you can find the version from timeline if not you need to revert(undo) your changes manually and publish reverted changes.

Screen Shot 2018-08-08 at 6.44.48 PM.png

Thanks

Arun

Avatar

Avatar
Level 1
andym17978582
Level 1

Likes

0 likes

Total Posts

3 posts

Correct Reply

0 solutions
View profile

Avatar
Level 1
andym17978582
Level 1

Likes

0 likes

Total Posts

3 posts

Correct Reply

0 solutions
View profile
andym17978582
Level 1

08-08-2018

Thanks. I see the automatically created version history now and the Revert button. 🙂

Avatar

Avatar
Validate 25
Level 10
smacdonald2008
Level 10

Likes

1,408 likes

Total Posts

12,671 posts

Correct Reply

2,278 solutions
Top badges earned
Validate 25
Validate 10
Validate 1
Give back 900
Give back 600
View profile

Avatar
Validate 25
Level 10
smacdonald2008
Level 10

Likes

1,408 likes

Total Posts

12,671 posts

Correct Reply

2,278 solutions
Top badges earned
Validate 25
Validate 10
Validate 1
Give back 900
Give back 600
View profile
smacdonald2008
Level 10

08-08-2018

Correct - Deactivate - aka Unpublish a page means its offline and you will not lose any content changes. You can publish at anytime to put it back online.

Avatar

Avatar
Level 1
andym17978582
Level 1

Likes

0 likes

Total Posts

3 posts

Correct Reply

0 solutions
View profile

Avatar
Level 1
andym17978582
Level 1

Likes

0 likes

Total Posts

3 posts

Correct Reply

0 solutions
View profile
andym17978582
Level 1

08-08-2018

Thanks. It's good to confirm that.