Expand my Community achievements bar.

SOLVED

Custom Tag Libraries : architecture and reasons to use

Level 2

I am a fairly green Java developer. I have 18 years of overall development experience but only about 1.5 years of Java, and only about that in CQ5. I have taken both the developer and advanced developer courses from Adobe.

I like the idea of a using custom tag library in my CQ projects because I can see how they would improve testability, and code re-use, among other things. However, being fairly new to both Java and CQ5 I don't have a good grasp on exactly what types components would be ideal candidates for a custom tag library, and what an "ideal" overall architecture would be.

So in my cq workspace I have 4 projects:

• "commons" bundle - shared utility classes, mostly static ones. No business logic.
  • "core" bundle - contains services, servlets, models, listeners, and whatever business logic the write in Java classes.
  • taglib bundle - just what it sounds like
  • "UI" or "content" package for the component jsp files, /etc/designs, etc.

So here are my questions:

1. How specific or generic do I make the output of custom tags?
  2. Does everything go into the tag, i.e. html, javascript and all?
  3. What is the best way to write Unit tests for a custom tag?
  4. What is the best programming pattern to use for the relationship between the tags and the business logic code?
  5. How does the use of services and servlets fit with custom tag development?

Thanks in advance,

David T Nelson

1 Accepted Solution

Correct answer by
Level 1

Hi David,

It's encouraging that unlike a lot of developers you're thinking about taglibs.  I'll try to summarise the way I have used taglibs myself on previous projects.

But firstly, with regards to your Maven project or OSGi bundle structure, there's no set rule... the way I tend to structure things is as follows:

MY_PROJECT
  |- CORE
      |- FILTERS
      |- MODELS
      |- SERVICES
      |- SERVLETS