Expand my Community achievements bar.

Dive into Adobe Summit 2024! Explore curated list of AEM sessions & labs, register, connect with experts, ask questions, engage, and share insights. Don't miss the excitement.

Can I share components across two Sites?

Level 2

Hello

I'm pretty new to AEM, so this question may have been asked before...but here goes.
My employer already uses an AEM Instance for a website that's already live, but it only services a particular customer type (Website 1). As part of their journey to improve customer experience, they want to use AEM to service a different customer type (Website 2). They've asked if it's possible to share already existing components across both Website 1 and 2 and to do this, will it require involvement of an AEM Developer. Or is this simply down to the permissions given to components when they're first created? I have researched this, and from what I've read it is only an AEM Developer than can enable the sharing of components across more than one website, but I can't say I've found a definitive answer to my questions. Thanks in advance.

6 Replies

Employee Advisor

Hi @simirving ,
If both the websites are hosted on same server, no new development is needed. You just need to enable the component for the templates that is being used in the new website. For editable template: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=CJrBr0a-jpI

For static templates, which is very old, you have to go to design more and from there you can add the component. No new development is needed. Only configuration would suffice.

Level 2

Hello @Anish-Sinha Amazing! Thanks for your prompt reply. So when it comes to enabling the components, is this Dev only, or is dependent on how my employer has set up permissions? I will take a look at the YouTube link you've shared. Thank you.

Employee Advisor