Expand my Community achievements bar.

Dive into Adobe Summit 2024! Explore curated list of AEM sessions & labs, register, connect with experts, ask questions, engage, and share insights. Don't miss the excitement.
SOLVED

AEM 6.5 textfield Unique validation issue

Level 4

I'm new to AEM development and got a requirement to extend the Textfield Unique validation for all Content fragment models to work in a case-insensitive manner. Like it should consider the Person and person as the same and show a unique value error message. Can anyone please suggest if it is possible to do this by making some configuration changes or how can we do this customization? Thanks in advance.

1 Accepted Solution

Correct answer by
Community Advisor

Hi @MukeshAEM,

Unfortunately this is not configurable.

In general Unique validation option is handled by com.adobe.cq.dam.cfm.impl.servlets.UniqueFieldValidatorServlet.

UniqueFieldValidatorServlet.jpg

As it can be seen on above screen shot UniqueFieldValidatorServlet is registered on specific extension, resourceType and support GET method.

What you can do, is to create your own custom servlet with your logic that will be used instead of OOTB one. Below is sample code snippet. Make sure to set high ranking - this will guarantee your servlet will be used instead of OOTB.

@Component(service = { Servlet.class })
@SlingServletResourceTypes(
        resourceTypes="dam/cfm/editor/validator/uniquefield",
        methods= HttpConstants.METHOD_GET,
        extensions="json")
// setting high ranking value to make sure custom servlet will be used instead of OOTB
@ServiceRanking(Integer.MAX_VALUE)
public class CustomUniqueFieldValidatorServlet extends SlingSafeMethodsServlet {

@Override
    protected void doGet(final SlingHttpServletRequest req,
            final SlingHttpServletResponse resp) throws ServletException, IOException {
            // place for your code
    }
}

Your custom servlet has to consume below 3 params: