Your achievements

Level 1

0% to

Level 2

Tip /
Sign in

Sign in to Community

to gain points, level up, and earn exciting badges like the new
BedrockMission!

Learn more

View all

Sign in to view all badges

SOLVED

5.6.1.SP2 LiveCopy - Page Move problem

Salvatore_Gallo
Level 2
Level 2

Hello,

I have a multilanguage website with 30 languages ​​and I have live copy active only for 6 languages
(it - en - es - fr -pt - de).

 

Everything works properly

 

The problem occurs when I move page from language EN to a language not valid for the slave site [example AR].

I get thrown an exception javax.jcr.PathNotFoundException:

On the livecopy section the page remains in the EN language and referenced whit AR page in master site

I would like in these cases the page to be removed from the live copy. I remember that this behavior before sp2 worked

 

Best regards
Thank

1 Accepted Solution
vanegi
Correct answer by
Employee
Employee

Moving pages in a blueprint will not result in corresponding pages being moved in live copies after rollout with standard rollout configuration:

  • The reason for this behavior is that a page move implicitly includes a page delete. This could potentionally lead to unexpected behavior on publish, as deleting pages on author automatically deactivates corresponding content on publish. This can also have a knock-on effect on related items such as links, bookmarks, and others.
  • Content inheritance in the respective live copy pages is updated to reflect the new location of their sources in the blueprint.
  • To fully realize a page move from a blueprint to live copies, consider the following best practices:
    1. Create a custom rollout configuration:
      • This new configuration must include the action:
        PageMoveAction
        Do not add other actions to this configuration.
    2. Position the new configuration:
      • To fully roll out the page move, while deleting respective pages at their old location in the live copy:
        • Position the newly created configuration before the standard rollout configuration.
          The standard rollout configuration will take care of deleting the pages in their old location.
      • To roll out the page move while keeping respective pages in their old location in the live copies (essentially duplicating the content):
        • Position the newly created configuration after the standard rollout configuration.
          This will ensure no content is deleted in the live copy or deactivated from publish.  

View solution in original post

1 Reply
vanegi
Correct answer by
Employee
Employee

Moving pages in a blueprint will not result in corresponding pages being moved in live copies after rollout with standard rollout configuration:

  • The reason for this behavior is that a page move implicitly includes a page delete. This could potentionally lead to unexpected behavior on publish, as deleting pages on author automatically deactivates corresponding content on publish. This can also have a knock-on effect on related items such as links, bookmarks, and others.
  • Content inheritance in the respective live copy pages is updated to reflect the new location of their sources in the blueprint.
  • To fully realize a page move from a blueprint to live copies, consider the following best practices:
    1. Create a custom rollout configuration:
      • This new configuration must include the action:
        PageMoveAction
        Do not add other actions to this configuration.
    2. Position the new configuration:
      • To fully roll out the page move, while deleting respective pages at their old location in the live copy:
        • Position the newly created configuration before the standard rollout configuration.
          The standard rollout configuration will take care of deleting the pages in their old location.
      • To roll out the page move while keeping respective pages in their old location in the live copies (essentially duplicating the content):
        • Position the newly created configuration after the standard rollout configuration.
          This will ensure no content is deleted in the live copy or deactivated from publish.  

View solution in original post