Expand my Community achievements bar.

SOLVED

Question regarding dynamically flowing forms layout

Level 3

I am new to using AEM Forms and somewhat of a learning curve from just regular PDF forms, and I need some assistance with subforms design.

I tried using the AEM conversion tool for my forms, but ended up manually recreating most of it, because of the dynamic expansion that we are trying to achieve.

I have 13 different groups of questions, which I have made each question its own subform. 

My problem is two fold:

1.  On the last page of the form in the original design, I had 2 "overall score" fields, which were placed in the bottom of the page and centered on the same line, and I want to try to keep that same design, but if I don't add those fields into the subform above it, if the fields grow to big, the text doesn't shift the rest of the form down, so I tried putting the "overall scores" fields in its own subform, same result, and the only way i can seem to get it to work is adding those fields into the subform above, and I had added t top margin to space it out from the above field, but i do not like the top down look for those fields, any suggestions?

2. Each subform i have seems to overwrite the next subform, if the fields expand enough, and not push the content down, like i want it to.  I read that I need to put everything into a single subform in order to achive this goal, is that correct?  If i do that though, all of the fields will be compacted in the top down format and not appear correct.  So, if I have to do that, how do i keep the layout the same, with achieving text expansion for my fields?

1 Accepted Solution

Correct answer by
Level 10

For dynamically growing forms, you need to use a flowing layout. Here a rough sketch how.

If an object like a text fields can grow, then all objects in the hierachy above it must be set to be flowed and growable too to avoid overlapping.

form1

masterpages

masterpage1

…