Option to overwrite previous onboarded file

Avatar

Avatar
Shape 1
Level 2
srujanam1304946
Level 2

Likes

5 likes

Total Posts

4 posts

Correct reply

0 solutions
Top badges earned
Shape 1
Boost 5
Boost 3
Boost 1
View profile

Avatar
Shape 1
Level 2
srujanam1304946
Level 2

Likes

5 likes

Total Posts

4 posts

Correct reply

0 solutions
Top badges earned
Shape 1
Boost 5
Boost 3
Boost 1
View profile
srujanam1304946
Level 2

07-10-2020

Hi Adobe,

 

We onboard fresh data in to AAM on monthly basis, and we have several segments built based on the onboarded data. In order for the segments to hold only the data from the latest file, AAM consultants have recommended that we include timestamps in the monthly files and update the segments with the new timestamp trait from the latest file. However as we get in to hundreds of segments, it is not feasible to manually update the traits each month. Therefore requesting Adobe to come up with an option to delete the previous month's file.

 

Thanks,
Srujana

2 Comments

Avatar

Avatar
Validate 1
Employee
allanwitts
Employee

Likes

2 likes

Total Posts

21 posts

Correct reply

2 solutions
Top badges earned
Validate 1
Boost 1
Affirm 1
View profile

Avatar
Validate 1
Employee
allanwitts
Employee

Likes

2 likes

Total Posts

21 posts

Correct reply

2 solutions
Top badges earned
Validate 1
Boost 1
Affirm 1
View profile
allanwitts
Employee

08-10-2020

Hi Srujana

 

It is already possible to overwrite previously onboarded data using ".overwrite" files. This is described in the product documentation here: https://docs.adobe.com/content/help/en/audience-manager/user-guide/implementation-integration-guides...

 

In particular, this part about .overwrite files:

"overwrite : Lets data providers send a list of traits on a per-user basis that should overwrite all of this user's existing third-party traits for this data provider in the Audience Manager. You do not need to include all of your users in an overwrite file. Include only those users that you want to change."

 

If you prefer to use .sync files rather than .overwrite files, then another option you have for removing traits from profiles is to set the TTL (trait expiration) to 31 days. That way, if a particular key-value pair isn't included in the file for a particular record in one month, the trait will be removed from the user profile. More about the trait TTL can be found here: https://docs.adobe.com/content/help/en/audience-manager/user-guide/features/traits/trait-builder/cre....

 

Hope this helps!

Avatar

Avatar
Shape 1
Level 2
srujanam1304946
Level 2

Likes

5 likes

Total Posts

4 posts

Correct reply

0 solutions
Top badges earned
Shape 1
Boost 5
Boost 3
Boost 1
View profile

Avatar
Shape 1
Level 2
srujanam1304946
Level 2

Likes

5 likes

Total Posts

4 posts

Correct reply

0 solutions
Top badges earned
Shape 1
Boost 5
Boost 3
Boost 1
View profile
srujanam1304946
Level 2

13-10-2020

Hi Allan,

 

Thanks so much! This helps.

 

Srujana