Expand my Community achievements bar.

Tracking URLs

Level 1

I'm new to Adobe Analytics and struggling with some reporting stats. I used unique tracking URLs in a recently issued press release. When I go into analytics to find the results it's showing only 5 total views. The last release with a unique tracking URL had 200+ views and was distributed in the exact same manner. The other thing that makes me believe the 5 views is not accurate is that we sent the release through a wire distribution service which is reporting 140 clicks on the same URL from their website alone. 

Any thoughts or help on a better way to find this data or if there's some sort of known glitchy thing in Adobe with unique URLs?

3 Replies

Level 4

Hello @AMicro , 

Is it possible to share some examples of these URL's? I know from personal experience where there are special landing pages or specific UTM queries that a number of the following can cause unexpected results.  Examples: 

• bad queries - the ? is not present, or there are 2 ?'s.  This will cause the dimension that captures specific UTM parameters to likely fail.  
  • Specific URL data-elements - if you URL data-element is defined in a specific way, and you have URL's that fall outside of those definitions, they will not show in that dimension.  
    • Example: with or without a protocol https://
  • redirects - some CMS settings will treat URLs with and without a trailing "/" differently.  In many cases, a redirect will occur without a training "/" depending on how things are set on your site.  In that case, if the lack of a training / causes a redirect, you will not see the exact value of your URL.  

troubleshooting: