Expand my Community achievements bar.

Webinar: Adobe Customer Journey Analytics Product Innovations: A Quarterly Overview. Come learn for the Adobe Analytics Product team who will be covering AJO reporting, Graph-based Stitching, guided analysis for CJA, and more!
SOLVED

Processing rule, vista rule and classification

Level 6

I am new to processing rules and trying to find some good source for understanding. First of all trying to understand differences between processing rule, vista and classification. I also read somewhere that many stopped using processing rule. Is it true?

Any help on this would be appreciated. 

1 Accepted Solution

Correct answer by
Community Advisor

The first thing is to understand the order in which your tags are processed.

1. Site Tags / Mobile App Context Variables

2. Processing Rules (still very much relevant to tagging needs, particularly when it comes to mobile apps)

3. Vista Rules (these have to be set up by Adobe and come with additional cost to configure)

4. Classifications (these can be used in a non-destructive way to apply values on top of your stored data)

Your actual tagging step should be pretty straight forward. You set your props, eVars, events, etc. In an ideal implementation, you are correct in thinking that maybe Processing Rules and Vista rules aren't needed... but IF you are doing mobile app tracking... you can't actually set the props, evars, etc directly. Some items, yes, would be set directly.. but for the most part you will want to send context variables to Adobe, then use your processing rules to set them.