Expand my Community achievements bar.

Join us at Adobe Summit 2024 for the Coffee Break Q&A Live series, a unique opportunity to network with and learn from expert users, the Adobe product team, and Adobe partners in a small group, 30 minute AMA conversations.
SOLVED

Adobe Power Bi Connector vs Adobe Analytics API

Level 2

Hello to everyone,

I am trying to extract data from Adobe Analytics in Power BI Desktop and I have to make a comparison between Adobe Analytics Power Bi Connector and Adobe Analytics API 2.0. Since I'm not an expert, I need some advice on which one could be the best. Here my first impression:

• Adobe Analytics Power Bi Connector: I tried using 2.0 (beta) version but I found it really slow and laggy. Specifically:
    • Extracting less than 1000 row (with 2 dimension and 2 measures), after two timeout errors, took around 15 minutes. 
    • I cannot set "Date granularity" from navigator menu because I encounter the error "Unexpected error: String was not recognized as a valid DateTime."
    • It's not possible to retrieve Calculated Metrics (I didn't found a way to do but I could be wrong)  I just didn't have the right permission to retrieve calculated metrics
  • Adobe Analytics API 2.0: I used python with JWT Authentication. Specifically:
    • I extracted data from one of my report suite using Report Endpoint and I found it quite easy and fast comparing to PBI connector.
    • Enable debugging mode helped me match the data showed in the Adobe Dashboards, including Calculated Metrics (!)
    • I have to set up a DB to store data from API calls

Can someone with more Hands-on experience help me integrate/validate this list or suggest me if there's another option?

Thank you!

Topics

Topics help categorize Community content and increase your ability to discover relevant content.

1 Accepted Solution

Correct answer by
Community Advisor

While I don't use either of these options much, here are my thoughts:

1. Power BI