Your achievements

Level 1

0% to

Level 2

Tip /
Sign in

Sign in to Community

to gain points, level up, and earn exciting badges like the new
Bedrock Mission!

Learn more

View all

Sign in to view all badges

Ability to Share Workspace Project as READ ONLY

Avatar

Level 4

30-01-2018

We've had multiple instances where we've created complex projects in Workspace for the business, and then shared them to multiple Stakeholders, only to find one of them changes or deletes something and then hits Save rather than Save As affecting the project for everyone.

At the moment the work around we have to use is to make a copy of the final project and share that, so we still have the original to revert to.

If when sharing there was the option to say whether it was shared as read-only or read/write it would help with this issue. Stakeholders could still make amend but if they then wanted to Save those amend it would only allow them to Save As a new project.

26 Comments

Avatar

Level 1

11-06-2018

If you are still looking to connect with people on the new permission structure for Analysis Workspace, please reach out to me. I have seen first hand how challenging not having a read only option is to large enterprise organizations.

Avatar

Moderator

11-06-2018

We have begun our phase 1 research, but we definitely keep you in mind for the next round! Thanks for being willing to chat.

Avatar

Moderator

26-09-2018

We are looking to get feedback on a read-only project experience in Analysis Workspace. If you have wanted something like this before and/or up-voted this thread, please take a moment to complete this survey (should take 5-10 minutes): https://goo.gl/forms/9zl6QiFG6OeNVjMU2. Thanks in advance!

Avatar

Community Advisor

27-09-2018

jen.lasser​ thanks for asking the community! would love to see this feature very soon, might be another "game changer" on how we spread data within our organisation.

Avatar

Level 2

03-10-2018

Thanks jen.lasser​ this is a must have and quickly. Not having read-only access and the inability to edit/delete custom templates are creating a lot of issues with our data democratization practices.

Avatar

Moderator

03-10-2018

Hi Lisa - in September's release, we added the ability to permission the 'save as template' functionality. You can remove that permission from users as needed and prevent further templates from being created by users who shouldn't create them.


For templates that were already created accidentally though, you can manage those from the Component > Projects manager. On the left rail, go to Other filters > Templates; that will filter down the list to all templates. From there, you can either:

1) delete a template altogether

2) If you want a version of the project to remain, you can open the project, Save As to create a regular project, then delete the template version. You could also enlist the user who made the template help in this process.

I hope this helps! We are eager to bring read-only to the product next year.

Avatar

Level 1

05-02-2019

Along with the ability to create a "view only" version of an entire dashboard it would also be fantastic if we could lock entire panels. This would give the owner full control over what the user can manipulate vs. what they can't. View only would take editing completely out of the picture, but if you have a team who has some experience with Adobe Analytics, by locking entire sections you could create complex items that are protected while others are left to be edited by the user.