Expand my Community achievements bar.

Learn about Edge Delivery Services in upcoming GEM session
SOLVED

FormCalc syntax and scripting issues

Level 1

Hi, I'm a total beginner at LiveCycle and FormCalc. I have been trying to create a simple form for a school assignment in which the user enters numeric data into a table and the last coloum then is calculated via FormCalc scripting. The equation which I have been attempting to express using FormCalc is  simple, (Cell1-Cell2)/Cell3*Cell4. I skimmed through a few tutorials but obviously my understanding of FormCalc and LiveCycle in general is insuffecient. I am hoping someone who could easily do this will help save me from having to learn FormCalc, any help or advice will be very much appreciated.

1 Accepted Solution

Correct answer by
Level 5

You get the arithmetic over/underflow error because one of your fields is empty or 0. You still need to test for these cases before you do the calculation. So if Cell 3 is 0 or empty (i.e. null) then you need to decide what happens. No calculation?

The correct calculation when all fields are entered is

$ = ( Cell1 - Cell2 ) / Cell3 * Cell4

but you really must test for Cell3 first to trap the error. Once all fields are entered, the error disappears. Something like

if ( HasValue( Cell3 ) )

{

}

View solution in original post

3 Replies

Level 5

You just need to select the field you want the calculation to appear in and go to the calculate event in the script window and use the following in formcalc

$ = ( Cell1 - Cell2 ) / ( Cell3 * Cell4 )

or whatever the corresponding field names are.

Also, you need to cater for empty fields, either set the cells to be numeric with a default value or extend the script to test if a value has been entered yet. Something like

if ( HasValue( TextField3 ) and HasValue( TextField4 ) ) then

$ = ( TextField1 - TextField2 ) / ( TextField3 * TextField4 )

else

< some other calc here / or nothing>

endif

Level 1