Expand my Community achievements bar.

Learn about Edge Delivery Services in upcoming GEM session

Expandable text-box, movable text, show/hide function

Level 1

Hi there,

I am brand new to LiveCycle and have some questions. I have already stumbled upon some threads that deal with expandable text-boxes and I have "tackled" the issue, however, is it possible when the text box expands that the rest of the text in the document (in a form, in my case), expands as well?

And another thing, if I I have two drop-down menus/lists, say List A and List B, and I choose one of the options from the List A drop-down lists, is it possible to hide the List B when one of the options from List B is chosen?

Thanks in advance!

Best,

Mirza

7 Replies

Level 7

For the first part just to clarify when you say "When the text box expands that the rest of the text in the document expands as well?" Do you really mean expand or that the items below move as that field expands? If that is correct then yes it can be done. Also for your second part, Yes, you can have an action that when a specific item is selected from a drop down that the second drop down can be hidden

Level 1

Dear Mouselander, yes exactly. When the expandable textbox expands that the text underneath it movew in the same direction as well so that the textbox wouldnt overwrite the text underneath it when expanded.

Ok great, would you please tell me how to achieve these two things, the thing with the expendable box nov overwriting rest of my text, and the hide option with the dropdown list?

Thanks in advance!

Level 7

To get the fields below to move you have to set the subform to be flowed. Try this; Create 3 fields and make sure they are set to expand on the height property in the layout tab. In the Object Field tab set fields to allow multiple lines. You should also make sure that your form is set to be dynamic. This will allow your fields to expand and move.