Expand my Community achievements bar.

Connecting MS Access to Acrobat LiveCycle / AEM

Level 2

Hi,

I am very new with using LiveCycle/AEM.

I am looking to connect my PDF Form within LiveCycle/AEM to a MS Access Database.

I am having trouble doing so.

These are the steps that I am following:

1. Click File

2. Click New Data Connection

3. Name the New Data Connection: DataConnection

4. Get data description from: Click OLEDB (I think, because MS Access)

5. Connection String: THIS IS WHERE I AM STUCK

Any information/comments is greatly appreciated.

Thanks,

Michelle

14 Replies

Level 10

Hi there,

you can view this short video on youtube which shows you basically how to connect to a database with PDF forms.

Simple ODBC Connections in Adobe LiveCycle ® - YouTube

Hope this help!

Level 2

Hi,

That video helped alot!

I was successfully able to connect my MS database with my LiveCycle.

Now I am attempting to make data dropdown lists.

Image:

1240272_pastedImage_0.png

The information is correct in the dropdown and I was able to link the dropdown to a specific column in a specific table in my database.

The problem:

The actual dropdown is not functioning. I am unable to view other options as the dropdown button on the right side of the field doesn't work.

FYI: I am using the interactive option to preview in PDF.

Any comments or thoughts on this matter would be greatly appreciated!

Thanks,

Michelle

Level 10

Hi there,

I have no clue what could make the drop down list behave like this... I would basically say that the access property is not open.

Maybe try to recreate another drop down list which in the object library is not called data drop down list. Otherwise I have no clue about what could fix this issue.

You can also have a drop down list which is not connected to the database but when you enter that field you copy the data of the drop down list that is connected to the database. That is just a workaround.

Hope this help!

Level 2

Hi,