Expand my Community achievements bar.

XML Schema binding - dynamic form

Former Community Member
I am new to Designer and XML. I have been given a basic interactive form and have persevered for a couple of (often frustrating) weeks to extend its functionality to link to an xml schema and provide for dynamic record creation. Unfortunately I am still having problems when adding new instances of subforms.<br /><br />I have a main form for reporting issues. Underneath it there are major components on a subform (can be multiple major components for each issue) and under major components are sub-components (can be multiple sub-components for each major component) on a child subform of major. I can add and delete instances of the subforms for both levels of records.<br /><br />I have created an xml schema based on the form since it already existed, and so the form fields have not inherited properties from the schema. However, I have bound the fields in the form to the xml fields through a data connection. The schema basically looks as follows (bot not literally the same as you will see from the tags):<br /><br /><element complextype issue><br /> <element issueId string/><br /> ...<br /> ...<br /> <element complextype majorcomponent unbounded><br /> <element majcomponentname string/><br /> ...<br /> <element complextype subcomponent unbounded><br /> <element subcomponent string/><br /> <element quantity string/><br /> ...<br /> ...<br /> </element><br /> </element><br /></element><br /><br />My problem is as follows: <br /><br />When I add an instance of a sub-component or major component subform, the first new instance appears to work correctly. However, every subsequent one inherits the values of the previous record and when it is changed, it changes the values of existing fields of the same name but of a different node. When I change each element in the xml schema to "unbounded", the forms appear to work properly but the values are then not nested correctly in the outpu