Expand my Community achievements bar.

Dive into Adobe Summit 2024! Explore curated list of AEM sessions & labs, register, connect with experts, ask questions, engage, and share insights. Don't miss the excitement.

While loop with Or statement

Former Community Member
Is it possible to have a while loop with the or (||) comparison.

I've been trying while (x != 1 || 2) and variations such as while (x != 1 || x != 2).

When I have just one statement the loop performs as normally, but when I add the second argument it seems to become an infinite loop, I've tested to make sure the variable is updating so I'm pretty sure the problem lies in my loop statement.

I am fairly new to javascript so this might be a case of me trying to use features from other languages that arent available in javascript.

Thank you

Paul
14 Replies

Level 4
I'm pretty sure any valid boolean expression can be used in a while loop, and I don't see anything wrong using with your second version (x != 1 || x != 2). However I don't think that with that statement any value of x will allow the OR statement to evaluate to false, so the loop will continue forever:

x=0 = ( true || true ) = result true

x=1 = ( false || true ) = result true

x=2 = ( true || false ) = result true

x=3 = ( true || true ) = result true

Perhaps you mean to use the AND operator && which would mean the loop would break if x was either 1 or 2.

Former Community Member
whenever ive tried to use the && operator it generates the following error:

XML parsing error: not well-formed (invalid token) (error code 4), line 59, column 23 of file.

This is a sample of the loop ive been trying to use:

var Temp = 1;

while (Temp != 2 && Temp != 3)

{

Temp = app.response({

cQuestion: "Enter Temp",

cTitle: "Testing:",

cDefault: "",

});

TextField1.rawValue = Temp;

}

Level 4